Parents of children born after 01/01/2007 can receive parental allowance. Parental allowance is an income replacement, lasting for the first 12-14 months of a child’s life, offering families some breathing space for a good start to family life.

According to § 1 Par. 1 of the Federal Parental Leave and Benefits Act (Bundeselterngeld und Elternzeitgesetz BEEG), those eligible for parental allowance are:

  • residents of Germany,
  • living in the same home as their child,
  • the principle caretakers and guardians of the child,
  • is not employed (full-time).

The amount of parental allowance depends on the current average monthly income the parent in question earned the year before the birth. The allowance will amount to at least €300, up to a maximum of €1,800. The parental allowance granted in cases of multiple births is increased to €300 for each additional child.

The minimum parental allowance is granted to anyone who looks after their newborn child themselves and works up to 30 hours a week, such as students, housekeepers, and also parents who do not work as they are caring for another older child.

Parental allowance counts as income when applying for unemployment benefits (Arbeitslosengeld II), social assistance, or a child benefit supplement. Allowance is not granted for couples who had a gross joint income of more than €500,000 in the calendar year prior to birth. For single parents, this applies to annual incomes greater than €250,000.

Application in accordance with § 7 BEEG:

  • the application must be submitted on time and in writing to the correct parental allowance office,
  • the following documents are required:
    • a copy of the parents’ I.D.
    • the child’s birth certificate
    • proof of income prior to birth
    • health insurance record of maternal allowance
    • letter from employer outlining granted parental leave

Offices responsible for the applications:

Social Security Office (Versorgungsamt) in Frankfurt
60439 Frankfurt/Main, Walter-Möller-Platz 1
Tel.: 069/15 67 - 1 (Head Office)
Office A – K 069/ 1567 – 470
Office L – Z 069/ 1567 – 471
Fax: 069/15 67 491
Email: post@havs-fra.hessen.de

Elterngeld bekommen alle Eltern, deren Kinder nach dem 01.01.2007 geboren wurden bzw. werden. Das Elterngeld stellt einen Ersatz eines Einkommens dar, der für die ersten 12/14 Lebensmonate eines Kindes gezahlt wird und bietet somit Familien einen Schonraum für einen guten Start in das gemeinsame Familienleben.

Grundsätzlich Elterngeldberechtigt nach § 1 Abs. 1 Bundeselterngeld und Elternzeitgesetz (BEEG) ist, wer:

  • seinen Wohnsitz oder gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in Deutschland hat
  • mit seinem Kind in einem Haushalt lebt
  • dieses Kind selbst betreut und erzieht und
  • keine oder keine volle Erwerbstätigkeit ausübt.

Die Höhe des Elterngeldes orientiert sich am laufenden durchschnittlichen monatlich verfügbaren Erwerbseinkommen, welches der betreuende Elternteil im Jahr vor der Geburt hatte. Es beträgt mindestens 300,00 € und höchstens 1.800,00 €. Bei Mehrlingsgeburten erhöht sich das Elterngeld um 300,00 € für jedes weitere Kind.

Das Mindestelterngeld erhalten alle, die nach der Geburt ihr Kind selbst betreuen und höchstens 30 Stunden in der Woche arbeiten – also z.B. auch Studierende, Hausfrauen oder  auch Eltern, die wegen der Betreuung eines älteren Kindes nicht arbeiten.

Das Elterngeld wird beim Arbeitslosengeld II, bei der Sozialhilfe oder beim Kindergeldzuschlag vollständig als Einkommen angerechnet. Ein Anspruch entfällt für Elternpaare, die im Kalenderjahr vor der Geburt ihres Kindes gemeinsam ein zu  versteuerndes Einkommen von mehr als 500.000,00 € hatten, für Alleinerziehende entfällt er bei einem Einkommen von mehr als 250.000,00 €.

Antragsstellung gemäß § 7 BEEG:

  • der Antrag ist rechtzeitig und schriftlich bei der zuständigen Elterngeldstelle zu beantragen;
  • Folgende Unterlagen sind beizufügen:
    • Kopie von Personalausweis der Eltern
    • Geburtsbescheinigung des Kindes
    • Nachweise zum Einkommen vor der Geburt
    • Bescheinigung der Krankenkasse über das Mutterschaftsgeld
    • Arbeitgeberbescheinigung zur gewährten Elternzeit

Zuständige Stelle für die Beantragung:

Versorgungsamt in Frankfurt
60439 Frankfurt/Main, Walter-Möller-Platz 1
Tel.: 069/15 67 - 1 (Zentrale)
Buchst. A – K 069/ 1567 - 470
Buchst. L – Z 069/ 1567 - 471
Fax: 069/15 67 491
E-Mail: post@havs-fra.hessen.de